day 46. ice cream + solitude.

Today, I’m grateful the vanilla bean ice cream I attempted was incredibly successful. Honestly, it’s the best vanilla ice cream I’ve ever eaten. On a hot, humid day like today, that is most definitely something to be thankful for.

Even though I woke up an hour before I wanted to today, my father was out and my mother was still asleep, which mean I had the house to myself for a brief period of time. I am thankful for the beautiful morning light, the way the sun filtered between the blinds, the stillness of the air, the near tangible quiet in the kitchen.

For the first time in a while, I wondered through a few stores by myself. Perhaps feeling independent is one of the things that gets my adrenaline going, or maybe I just needed some time apart from the din of my family. Regardless, I’m thankful for that time.

I’m thankful for the friendship I have found in P and K, two great sources of unconditional love. I’m thankful K and I practically have the same brain; I’m thankful P has been a constant companion, an absolute joy, and a wonderful listener, even when she doesn’t understand a thing I’m talking about.

One thought on “day 46. ice cream + solitude.

  1. Pingback: Vanilla Bean Ice Cream. | Cakey Bakes

Leave a comment